UA's Dr. Harvey Meislin Elected President of American Board of Medical Specialties

Harvey Meislin, MD has been elected president of the American Board of Medical Specialties

Harvey Meislin, MD, chairman of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Arizona College of Medicine, has been elected president of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). ABMS is the umbrella organization for the 24 approved medical specialty boards in the United States. Established in 1933, the ABMS coordinates the activities of its member boards and provides information to the public, the government, the medical profession and its members concerning issues involving specialization and certification in medicine.

ABMS assures the public that board-certified physicians have successfully completed an approved training program and an evaluation process assessing their ability to provide quality patient care in their specialty. The organization's website is

Dr. Meislin is founder and director of the UA's Arizona Emergency Medicine Research Center and a professor of emergency medicine. He played a pivotal role in creating the UA's Department of Emergency Medicine in 2001. Dr. Meislin came to the College of Medicine from UCLA in 1980 to found the Section of Emergency Medicine in the UA Department of Surgery. In 1990, he helped found the Arizona Emergency Medicine Research Center, a Center of Excellence at the UA College of Medicine.

Among many other honors, Dr. Meislin served as president of the American Board of Emergency Medicine; as a fellow of the American College of Emergency Physicians; and as an Advanced Trauma Life Support instructor for the American College of Surgeons. Dr. Meislin has served on editorial/review boards for numerous publications, including the Annals of Emergency Medicine, the American Journal of Emergency Medicine, and the Journal of the American Medical Association, among others