UA Alumni Association Honors Local Pharmacists, Professors

UA Alumni Association Honors Local Pharmacists, Professors
Seven Tucsonans affiliated with The University of Arizona College of Pharmacy were honored by the UA Alumni Association Nov. 10 for their professional accomplishments or service to the university.

William N. Jones, a pharmacist, received a Professional Achievement Award. A 1972 graduate of the UA College of Pharmacy, Jones was recognized for his 28 years of exemplary professional achievements with the Southern Arizona Veterans Affairs Health Care System. Jones recently was named the education and performance improvement pharmacist for the VA Central Office Pharmacy Benefits Management Strategic Healthcare Group.

Jones also has been honored with the VA Hands and Hearts Award and the Distinguished Federal Pharmacist Award given by the American Pharmacists Association.

Thomas Reed and Dana Reed-Kane, father and daughter pharmacists at Reed's Compounding Pharmacy, received Distinguished Citizen Awards for their contributions to the profession of pharmacy and pharmacy education.

Thomas Reed is a 1969 graduate of The University of Arizona College of Pharmacy. He became the owner of Jones Drug Co. in 1979, joined United Drugs in 1987 and sold Jones United Drug Co. to Albertson's in 2001. Since then, he has worked with his daughter at Reed's Compounding Pharmacy. He has helped train UA pharmacy students as a volunteer clinical faculty member for three decades and served as an advisor to the National Community Pharmacist Association and the college.

Dana Reed-Kane graduated from the UA College of Pharmacy in 1996 and opened Reed's Compounding Pharmacy in 1998. She too is a volunteer clinical faculty member for the college, training several students each year at her business. She is a past recipient of the Pfizer Pharmaceuticals Community Pharmacy Internship Award and a member of several professional and leadership organizations.

Paul Myrdal and Richard Herrier each received an Extraordinary Faculty Award for their excellence as faculty members of the UA College of Pharmacy.

Now an assistant professor of pharmaceutics in the college's Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, Myrdal earned both a bachelor's degree in molecular and cellular biology and a PhD in physical pharmaceutical chemistry from The University of Arizona.

Myrdal was recognized for providing quality instruction and mentoring to his students and for his scholarship and service to the college. Myrdal teaches first-year student pharmacists and directs the pharmaceutics and pharmacokinetics track of the college's graduate program. He has twice received Educator of the Year awards from graduating doctor of pharmacy students.

Herrier, a specialist in ambulatory and primary care pharmacy practice, is a clinical associate professor in the college's Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science. He develops educational programs to enhance student pharmacists' skills in patient counseling, disease management, physical assessment and compliance enhancement. He was recognized for devoting extra time to his students and his dedication to the profession of pharmacy.

Earlier this year Herrier received the Elias Schlossberg Award from the Arizona Pharmacy Alliance, the highest recognition to an Arizona pharmacist for sustained exemplary service.

Jenene Spencer of Fry's Food and Drug Stores received an Outstanding Young Alumni Volunteer Achievement Award for her support of the university.

A 1998 graduate of the UA College of Pharmacy, Spencer was recognized for her contributions as pharmacy residency preceptor and a volunteer clinical faculty member with the college. Spencer helped develop Arizona's first postgraduate residency program in community pharmacy practice while still a pharmacy student, and is now preceptor for the Fry's Community Pharmacy Residency Program, where new pharmacists receive additional training in community pharmacy.

Spencer also has served for several years as an instructor to pharmacy students completing their clinical rotations, developed and conducts College of Pharmacy wellness programs held throughout Tucson, and has served as a member of college's admissions committee.

Ali McBride, a UA pharmacy student, received a Student Volunteer Award for his extraordinary service to the university.

McBride will graduate in May 2007 as a doctor of pharmacy. During his nearly four years at the College of Pharmacy, he has been president of the Student Society of Health-System Pharmacists and the college Student Council and a student representative on the Arizona Pharmacy Alliance Board of Directors. He is also a member of Kappa Psi, Phi Lambda Sigma and the Academy of Managed Care Pharmacists.

McBride was recognized for volunteering in a variety of community efforts, including Ronald McDonald House, the Children's Heart Foundation, and multiple community health screenings, and for serving as coach to a junior high lacrosse team. He was praised for his leadership within the College of Pharmacy and for making sure other students are recognized for their service to the community and profession.

The Alumni Association also presented a Professional Achievement Award to Robert Pittman of Maryland, a rear admiral in the U.S. Public Health Service who graduated from the College of Pharmacy in 1984.

Hal Wand, of Buckeye, Ariz., received a Bear Down Award. Wand, executive director of the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy, is a 1979 graduate of the pharmacy school who is a volunteer faculty member at the college and a member of its advisory board.